Accounting standards (CICA Handbook, IFRS), annual reports, articles, bankruptcy research, books, corporate governance, dictionaries & encyclopedias, tax research, writing & citing.
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014
Welcome to the Accounting Research Guide!
This research guide is targeted at Brock University students, faculty, and staff who are conducting research on accounting. It includes print sources, e-books, and databases available in our Library, as well as some useful websites. For more links, please see my bookmarks on delicious: http://delicious.com/brockbizlibrary.
The Accounting Research Guide contains the following pages:
There are also Special Topics pages devoted to the following types of accounting research:
- Accounting Standards: CPA Handbook (formerly the CICA Handbook) and IFRS. International auditing standards.
- Annual Reports: tips on finding corporate annual reports, 10Ks, proxy circulars, and other securities filings.
- Articles: the best databases to use to find newspaper, magazine and journal articles on accounting topics.
- Books: tips on searching the Library Catalogue to find print and ebooks.
- Encyclopedias, Guides, & Handbooks:
- Financial Data Sources: Bloomberg, Compustat, Datastream, and much more.
- Writing and Citing: writing guides and tips on citing your sources in AAA style, as well as links to APA, Chicago, MLA, and Refworks. Learn about academic integrity and plagiarism.
The Routledge Companion to Cost Management
Call Number: HF 5686 C8 R598 2013 (9th floor)
Publication Date: 2013
"The Routledge Companion to Cost Management is a timely reference volume covering both practical developments and research in this area. Topics covered include:
Cost control issues, Cost analysis and decision making, Cost management systems and Environmental cost management.
With chapters from an international team of contributors, this prestigious companion will prove an indispensible addition to any library with aspirations of keeping up-to-date with the world of accounting."
Accounting and Auditing Research and Databases: Practitioner's Desk Reference
Call Number: HF 5630 W388 2012 (9th floor)
Publication Date: 2012
"Focusing on the practical aspects of professional accounting and auditing research and databases, Accounting & Auditing Research and Databases: Practitioner's Desk Reference is the one-stop reference to help professionals navigate these rapidly evolving systems.
"The "whats," "whys," and "hows" of practical professional accounting, auditing, and tax research are discussed, with an emphasis on:
- The most effective methods to research
- How to apply a practical research methodology in a timely manner
- The generally accepted accounting principles, auditing standards, and tax authorities
- What constitutes substantial authoritative support
- The available sources of authority for accounting, auditing, and tax
- The databases available for finding relevant authorities or assisting in researching a particular problem
- The role of the Internet in the modern research process
- How to conduct research using databases, including RIA, CCH, AICPA's Online Library, FASB Codification, GARS, and eIFRS".
The Financial Times Essential Guide to Budgeting and Forecasting
Call Number: HG 4028 B8 W93 2012 (9th floor)
Publication Date: 2012
"Gain the knowledge and confidence you need to build and manage budgets and forecast financial information.
This book demystifies budgets and forecasts, providing simple explanations and clear examples. It includes integrated checklists, goals and milestones, to ensure you are on target to achieve the best results.
Part of The Financial Times Essential Guides series: Task-focused and results-orientated, the essential guides are for every manager who wants to move their skills beyond the ordinary to the best". (publisher)
Best Practices in Management Accounting
Call Number: HF 5657.4 B477 2012 (9th floor)
Publication Date: 2012-01-15
"Management accounting has undergone significant evolution moving away from rigid budgeting programs and static output measures to comprehensive approaches of value identification and measurement.The book provides case studies, commentary and analysis from international experts in management accounting across the contemporary focus areas". (publisher)
Business Guides Home Page
- Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
Business Guides Home Page - find the guide you need linked from one landing page.
1,705 views this year
Linda Domier Lowry
On Sabbatical Leave from July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015
905-688-5550 ext 5281