Research Guides: COMM2P15: Home

Developing your Topic

Tips:

try to choose a topic that interests you - it's easier to search if you are curious about the topic
test out some searches in SuperSearch to figure out whether you need to broaden/narrow your topic
be flexible with your keywords (e.g. children could be kids, toddlers, etc.)
- Video Tutorial: Improve your keyword searches

Slides from in-class lecture: COMM-PCUL 2P15 Library Research

Exploring a Topic

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries can be a good place to get background information on communication concepts and terminology. Listed below are some good tools for communication information.

Communication, Cultural and Media Studies: The Key concepts, 5th Edition by John Hartley
Call Number: Read this online
Publication Date: 2020
A Dictionary of Media and Communication, 3rd ed. by Daniel Chandler; Rod Munday
Call Number: Read this online
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Call Number: Read this online
Publication Date: 2002
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Read this online
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by Paul J. Lavrakas (Editor)
Call Number: Read this online
Publication Date: 2008
Find information about the methods and techniques involved in social science research.

Library Databases

Use these library databases to locate books, journal articles, etc. on your topic:

Omni This link opens in a new window
SuperSearch is a powerful multidisciplinary tool. It includes content from the Brock library catalogue, digital repository, all of the EBSCO databases (including Academic Search Complete), JSTOR, Web of Science, and journal article citations from many scholarly publishers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to journal articles related to mass media and communications, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text covers over 300 scholarly and popular periodicals relating to film and television studies, including reviews, criticism, and popular interest pieces.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers published in Canada
- Permitted Uses

COMM2P15

Liaison Librarian

Developing your Topic

Exploring a Topic

Library Databases

What is a peer-reviewed article?