Skip to main content
Banner Image

Applied Linguistics

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of Applied Linguistics

Liaison Librarian

Karen Bordonaro
Book a Research Consultation
Contact:
Email: kbordonaro@brocku.ca
Office: Schmon Tower 1128
Phone: (905) 688-5550 extension 4423

Finding Journal Articles

To search for journal articles, use the Library Databases

The best databases for TESL topics are:

Applied Linguistics Cluster 
for applied linguistics articles across disciplines (applied linguistics, psychology, sociology, education, medicine)
LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) 
the best single database in Applied Linguistics
MLA International Bibliography 
for literature and linguistics topics
 
The best databases for speech language pathology topics are:
 
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Service) 
for articles on speech language pathology and audiology
LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) 
for articles on applied linguistics
MEDLINE - via OVID 
for medical articles

Interlibrary Loan/ RACER

What if Brock does not have the article or book I need?

RACER Interlibrary Loan allows users to search in all Ontario university and worldwide libraries to place requests for items that Brock does not own.

First-time users need to register & create a PIN. More information here.

Search RACER Now

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Applied Linguistics

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Speech Language Pathology