Skip to main content



Music

A research guide to help you find scores, recordings, books, and articles in the field of music.

Where is the Music collection?

  • Find the print collection (scores, literature & theory) on the 8th floor of the Library
  • CDs are held behind the Circulation Desk on the main floor
  • DVDs of operas and other performances are on the 5th floor
  • Online Music resources -- such as journal articles, scores and streaming audio -- can be found using the menu on the left side of this page

Borrowing Materials from the James A Gibson Library

Did you know you can request materials from the Library and have them delivered to the Learning Commons in the Marilyn I Walker School?

  • this service is free to students and faculty
  • please allow 2-3 days for delivery
  • books may be returned to the MIW Learning Commons or the James A Gibson Library
  • note: This service does not include reserve material, non-circulating books, interlibrary loan materials, audio-visual material (CDs, DVDs), or equipment

More details and request form

Getting Started with Library Research

Would you like to learn the basics of library research?  Use our online learning tutorial to improve your skills:

Best Databases for Music

To find journal articles, search using the Library's databases.

Other Databases

Interlibrary Loan/ RACER - articles

Racer logo

What if Brock does not have the article I need?

RACER Interlibrary Loan allows users to search in all Ontario university and worldwide libraries to place requests for items that Brock does not own.

First-time users need to register & create a PIN. More information here.

Search RACER Now

Need help? Watch the RACER Set up and Simple Search video tutorial.

Best Source for Background Info

Oxford Music Online is the gateway to search many major reference works for music, especially Grove Music Online.

Essential reference source for music research. Provides access to the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002).

This encyclopedia contains articles written by experts on musicians, composers, musicologists, instruments, places, genres, terms, performance practice, concepts, acoustics, and more.

Other Sources for Background Information