Research Guides: Classics and Archaeology (legacy): Classics

Finding Sources

Although you can find many resources for Classics using Omni, the following specialized databases and collections allow you to search a more focused collection of materials.

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- The most comprehensive index to scholarly literature in Classics. Includes journal articles, books, collections, festschriften, conference papers, etc.
- Coverage: 1928-current (with a 2-3 year delay)
- Permitted Uses
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Archive to academic journals and books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business
- Most content is more than 3 years old
- Brock has fulltext access to a subset of JSTOR eBooks including Music Set 1 (2016), Film Sets 1-3 (2017), and Language & Literature Sets 1-2 (2017).
- Permitted Uses
Database Guide
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Classics This link opens in a new window
- A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules in Classics.
- Helps researchers quickly find reliable sources of information by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research.
- Permitted Uses
TOCS-IN This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to tables of contents for journals of interest to classicists
- Covers Classics, Near Eastern Studies and Religion, both in text format and through a Web search program
- Also included are some collections of articles
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journal articles, papers, books, book chapters, archives and reviews.
- Includes an open access content aggregator, categorized taxonomy of papers, structured bibliography on notable authors and subjects, and an active archive.
- Permitted Uses
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly resources across all disciplines
- Access to Cited Reference searching.
- Includes Proquest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index.
- Permitted Uses
ARTstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Images including painting, photography and sculpture
- Subjects include, art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance Studies.
- To download and save images, users must first register for an individual ArtStor account
- More info on downloading images.
- Permitted Uses
Brill E-Books Online Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Classical Studies collection of e-books
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- Access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories ebook series.
- Browse by subject to find historical research related to your subject area.
- Permitted Uses
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth, peer-reviewed essays and introductions by leading scholars in Archaeology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology
- Permitted Uses

Selected Reference Works

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: DE 5 N4813 2002 - Antiquity (15 volumes)
Call Number:: DE 5 N48213 2006 - Classical Tradition (7 volumes)
Brill's New Pauly: Historical Atlas of the Ancient World
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Call Number: DE 5 N48313 2007 Suppl. v.3 (Main Library)
Call Number: Atlas G 1033 H5713 2010 (Map, Data & GIS Library)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: DE 5 O9 - multiple editions
Click the title for the online edition; older print copies also in the library stacks.

Primary Texts

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
- Includes most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
- Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
- Each user must create a user profile, and after confirming registration by e-mail, can access the database at anytime from both on and off campus.
- Permitted Uses
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- The digital Loeb Classical Library extends the founding mission of James Loeb with an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.

When searching for primary texts in Omni, try including "sources" as a subject term. For example:

subject is (exact): Greece -- History -- To 146 B.C. vs Greece -- History -- To 146 B.C. -- Sources
subject contains: Rome politics vs Rome politics sources

Interlibrary Loan/ RACER

What if Brock does not have the book or article I need?

RACER Interlibrary Loan allows users to search in all Ontario university and worldwide libraries to place requests for items that Brock does not own.

First-time users need to register & create a PIN. More information here.

Search RACER Now

Writing and Citing

Department of Classics Style and Citation Guide for Undergraduate Students
Use this format for your list of works cited.
Citations in Classics and Ancient History (E. Garvin, Feb. 2019)

Web Sites

Archaeology: A Publication of the Archaeological Institute of America
Athena Review: Guide to Archaeology on the Internet
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Diotíma
"A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world."
Eidolon
"Eidolon is an online journal for scholarly writing about Classics that isn’t formal scholarship."
LacusCurtius: A Gateway to Ancient Rome
Omniglot Encyclopedia: Greek Language (Ελληνικό αλφάβητο)
Omniglot Encyclopedia: Latin Language (Lingua Latina)
Open Greek and Latin Project
Perseus Digital Library
POLIS by Stanford University
Data visualization on places and people in Classical Greece
Stoa Consortium
"Serving news, projects, and links for digital classicists everywhere"