This is the "Home" page of the "e-Reference" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

e-Reference  

The "Go-To" Guide for background information on everything and anything! Find your Faculty for information in your subject area.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.brocku.ca/ereference Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the e-Reference Guide!

Find Scholarly sources for background information on just about anything!

Never worry about unreliable Internet and Wikipedia sources again!

Select your Faculty above to get started!

 

About Reference Sources

Reference sources are a great place to begin your research.  They can help you gain a comprehensive understanding of your topic and contain useful facts and information to support your research.  Reference sources include:

Encyclopedias: Provide comprehensive coverage of an entire area of knowledge. There are general encyclopedias and subject encyclopedias, and they differ as to the level of detail and complexity. Encyclopedias are good for fact-finding, getting general background information about a subject or starting a research project.

Dictionaries: Standard dictionaries give an alphabetical list of words and their definitions. Thesauri contain synonyms and antonyms.  Dialect and slang dictionaries present words and definitions not necessarily found in standard dictionaries. There are also dictionaries of abbreviations and acronyms and dictionaries of quotations.

Biographies: Brief summaries of data about a person, detailed information about a person, or references (citations) to other short or full-length biographies written about the person.

Almanacs, Yearbooks, and Handbooks: Often single volumes which summarize large amounts of facts about things like people and organizations, current and historical events, countries, statistics, and popular culture items like sports and  entertainment.

Try Here First

  • Oxford Reference
    The Oxford Reference platform is made up of 2 collections:
    Oxford Quick Reference is a collection of 125 core subject, quotation, and language dictionaries. New titles are added and major revisions are completed three times a year.
    The Oxford Reference Library is made up of over 180 more specialized works including Oxford Companions and multi-volume Oxford Encyclopedias. These titles are fully cross-searchable with those in the Oxford Quick Reference collection, and provide longer, in-depth, academic content as well as essays and specialist definitions.

Brock University  Niagara Region   500 Glenridge Ave., St. Catharines, Ont., Canada L2S 3A1  Canada

[ VISIT BROCK ]

 [ CAMPUS MAP ]

© 2011 Brock University.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip