Research Guides: ENTR 4P93: International Entrepreneurship: Competitor & Industry Analysis

International Industry Analysis

You can learn more about industries and the competitive landscape in your target market by consulting one or more of the following sources of international industry profiles:

Global Insights by Industry (Michigan State University)

Library Databases:

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.Permitted Uses
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window Passport GMID from Euromonitor International contains fulltext industry profiles on a wide variety of consumer product & service industries from alcoholic drinks to travel and tourism including country-specific industry reports (e.g. Wine in Canada) for 80 countries. Other consumer industries covered include: apparel, beauty & personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer finance, consumer foodservice, consumer health, DIY & gardening, eyewear, fresh food, health & wellness, home care, hot drinks, housewares, luxury goods, packaged food, personal goods, pet care, retailing, soft drinks, tissue & hygiene, tobacco, toys & games, travel & tourism.
Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

Industry Insights From Global Consulting Firms (a selective list):

International Competitor Analysis

You can identify competitors using a variety of business or company directories, databases, and web sites. You can often identify competitors within the same industry by searching by an industry code or by keywords in the industry description.

Company Directories (Global EDGE, Michigan State University)

Library Databases:

Company Dossier (via Nexis Uni) The Company Dossier search tool brings together hundreds of company information sources covering news, legal activity, financial data and more info a customized company report.The Create a Company List search template lets you search by NAICS code to identify competitors across a large number of popular company directories. [Brock University Licensed Resource].
more info...close...
NOTE: Use the NAICS Lookup feature within the Company Dossier - it uses the US version of NAICS.
Technical note: works best with the Internet Explorer browser.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect's Global Database includes 245 million private companies
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- International Company Database (public companies listed on a stock exchange)
- D&B Private Company Database (20 million private companies worldwide)