Research Guides: ENTR 4P93: International Entrepreneurship: Customer / Target Market Analysis

Sources for Customer / Target Market Analysis

Sales, Market Share, & Spending Data

Statista This link opens in a new window The Statista database is the best starting point for gathering market data and identifying your target market. The Business Plan Export Tool enables you to extract data on consumer and digital markets for most countries or regions around the world. The Global Consumer Survey is another recommended source for extracting country-specific consumer data.
Passport This link opens in a new window Provides brand share and company share data, consumer trends and lifestyles analysis, and other data on hundreds of countries worldwide including Canada.

Global Consumption Database (World Bank)

Socioeconomic & Demographic Data

You can gather socioeconomic and demographic data on your target market (country or region) using the following sources:

Passport This link opens in a new window
- Country Consumer Overviews
Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

Advertising & Mass Media Data

Consult the following specialized sources to gather information on advertising and mass media such as ad spending, newspaper circulation, data on audience size or readership by media channel, and more:

Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

ComScore Insights
Access insights from ComScore, a digital analytics firm, via their blog posts, presentations and whitepapers on global trends in mobile and digital media. You must register on the site in order to download reports.