Program Banner

Safety

What is this guide for?

This guide has been designed as a general program guide and is curated by Brock librarians. It features open and Brock Library databases to find OH&S information, definitions, data, news articles and MSDS sheets.

If you are involved with a safety and health issue fill out the Injury/incident Report form, consult the Biosafety Manual, MSDSonline eBinder (requires staff username/password), note resources on the Brock Health, Safety and Wellness site, phone 905 688 5550 ex. 7233 and/or email besafe@brocku.ca.

Contact the Brock Library to ask any questions or learn more about gaining safety-related data, sheets, and information.

A select list safety databases are listed below.

Brock Safety Databases
Includes standards, chemical reports, data and occupational health and safety guides and commentaries.
CAMEO Chemicals
Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)

Chemical Hazards in Industry This link opens in a new window
- Find articles on chemical safety and health hazards in chemical and related industries.
- Permitted Uses
CHEMINFO This link opens in a new window
- Find current data sheets for commercial chemical safety, handling, toxicological, regulatory information and data.
- Permitted Uses
International Programme on Chemical Safety (IPCS) INCHEM This link opens in a new window
- Find international reports, data sheets and monographs on chemical safety, handling, risk, poisons, exposure, and health-related evaluations.
- Coverage: 1965-current
- Permitted Uses
PubChem This link opens in a new window
- Find information on the properties, structures, atomic and biological activities of small molecules, as well as substance biophysical information, compound, and bioactivity.
- Comprised of 3 Databases - PubChem Compound, PubChem Substance and PubChem Bioassay.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Safety Data Sheets (SDS) Database This link opens in a new window
- Find current data sheets for commercial chemical safety information and data.
- Each record includes physical properties, health hazards, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, first aid recommendations, storage and handling, exposure, safe use, personal protection and what to do in case of an emergency.
- Permitted Uses