Skip to main content



Library Events for Faculty and Graduate Students

Information and links to resources for events offered to faculty and graduate students

Fall Workshops: 9 December 2014

Play Nicely Together: Google Docs for Collaboration
Monica Rettig (Liaison Librarian) & Jennifer Thiessen (Education Librarian)
Tired of emailing multiple versions of Word documents back and forth with colleagues? Looking for tools to help your students to collaborate on assignments? Join our interactive workshop to learn how you can use Google Docs in your research and teaching.

SciFinder: Not Just for Chemistry People (pdf)
Ian Gordon (Head, Circulation)
SciFinder is the largest and widest-searching database we have, covering journals and pulling citations from the MEDLINE database. This session will introduce the potential of SciFinder, explain its overlap with other databases, and present its most often used features.

More Open, More Impact: New Ways of Sharing Research and Tracking Impact
Ian Gibson (Collections Librarian), Elizabeth Yates (Liaison/Scholarly Communication Librarian)
Learn how new publishing models such as Open Access are transforming scholarly communication and explore alternative methods of measuring research impact, which incorporate views, downloads, social media sharing and other indicators. Participants will have the opportunity to sign up for an ORCID: a unique research identifier that makes it easier to track your scholarship.

Plan Ahead with Research Data Management
Heather Whipple (Data/Liaison Librarian)
It’s never too early to start thinking about what to do with your data before, during, and after analysis. For both qualitative and quantitative researchers.

How to Find Primary Records
David Sharron (Head, Special Collections)
An overview of the various ways one could search for archival materials and how to work with the materials once you find them.

Mapping for Beginners with GIS
Colleen Beard (Head, Map, Data & GIS Library)
Sometimes the
best way to get a point across is to draw a picture! If your point has a geographic element, this mapping technology may be what you need. This workshop introduces basic concepts of using GIS (Geographic Information Systems) with no previous experience necessary. Participants will learn how to navigate ArcGIS for visualizing data, use basic GIS analysis for problem solving, and design maps for publication using best practices. The concepts learned can be applied to many research problems in any discipline.

Video, Music, and Images to Integrate in Your Research and Teaching
Monica Rettig (Liaison Librarian) & Justine Cotton (Liaison Librarian)
With the amount of materials available on the open web, we sometimes overlook the impressive (and exclusive!) subscription databases at our fingertips.This session will introduce you to the rich array of streaming video, music, and images available through the Brock Library.  Learn more about the millions of images available through Artstor, the thousands of films available through Criterion and the National Film Board Screening Room, and the thousands of tracks available in Naxos Music Library and Classical Music Library.We will also share examples of how these resources have been integrated in assignments at Brock.

Brown Bag Lunch Discussion for Library Reps
Laurie Morrison (Head, Liaison) & Mandy Deans-Kassies (Head, Collections)
Faculty currently acting as their department's library representative and other faculty curious about the role are invited.

Struggling with Citations? There’s a Tool for That!
Elizabeth Yates (Liaison/Scholarly Communication Librarian), Marcie Jacklin (Liaison Librarian) & Jennifer Thiessen (Education Librarian)
Citation management software can help you store and organize references and save time by automatically generating in-text citations and bibliographies. This session will introduce you to the range of features available in citation management tools and offer hands-on experience with two free web-based tools: Endnote Basic and Zotero. These are presented as alternatives to RefWorks, which will be phased out at Brock after June 2015. See also: RefWorks Transition Guide

Processing Data on Library Computers: The Hows and Whys
Jonathan Younker (Acting Associate University Librarian), Mike Tisi (Library Systems Administrator), James Desjardins (Psychology)
Library staff have been working with faculty/researchers in Psychology to process electroencephalography (EEG) data on library public PCs after hours and during periods of low activity. This presentation will explain what the Library is doing, how it can help similarly focused faculty/researchers with high data computation needs, and the technical details of the project.

 

If you require these materials in an alternate format, please contact Jennifer Thiessen.