Skip to main content



International Students Library Guide

This guide contains both library and language links for international students

Library Workbook for ESL Students

 

ESL WORKBOOK:

SECTION ONE:  STARTING PLACES

1. Search for internationalization in these three different starting places.  Based on the different results you get, see if you can match the name of the starting place to its contents.

1). Google (www.google.ca)                                                a. ____ books and articles from library sources

2). Google Scholar (scholar.google.ca)                                  b. ____ everything that is freely available

3). Super Search (from www.brocku.ca/library)                    c.____ books and articles that are freely available

NOTE: You can limit Super Search to journal articles only. On the left side, click on Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

 

2. Every journal article that I need for my research is available for free online.

_____ true (T)

_____ false (F)

 

3. Find the Google Scholar link on the library web page.  Now do a search for internationalization.

     I can get full articles through a library link using Google Scholar this way.

                _____ true (T)

                _____ false (F)

 

SECTION TWO:  CHOOSING KEYWORDS

4. Underline or identify the five best words in the following sentence to use as keywords in a library search statement.

I need to find information on the relationship between international students and higher education in Canada. 

 

5. I should type out every word in my search statement.

                _____ true (T)

                _____ false (F)

 

6. I should type out common words in English like relationship.

                _____ true (T)

                _____ false (F)

 

SECTION THREE:  SEARCHING TIPS

Go to Super Search on the Library web page

 

A. Phrase Searching

Do the following searches, compare results, and answer the question below. 

 

international students

“international students”

 

7. Quotation marks in a library search:

  1. show someone else’s words
  2. tell the system to search the words together
  3. do not mean anything

 

B. Truncation or Wild Card Searching

Now do these searches, compare results, and answer the question below. 

 

child

child*

 

8. The asterisk at the end of a word tells the system to:

  1. bring back only the root of the word
  2. bring back all other forms of the word with different endings
  3. leave a space at the end of the word

 

C. Boolean Operators – AND, OR, NOT

Next do these searches, compare results and answer the questions below. 

 

international or foreign

International and foreign

 

9. Use an OR between words to search for:

  1. synonyms (ex. adolescent, teenager)
  2. words that have opposite meanings (ex. light, dark)
  3. words that sound the same but have different meanings (ex. meet, meat)

 

10. Use an AND between words to:

  1. find neither word in a search
  2. find synonyms
  3. find results that contain both words

 

D. Implied AND

Finally do these searches, compare results, and answer the question below. 

 

foreign students

foreign and students

 

11. The results from these two searches are:

  1. the same
  2. different
  3. not necessarily the same or different

 

SECTION FOUR:  EVALUATING RESULTS

Go to Super Search on the Library web page.  Do a search on internationalization, look at the results list, and answer the questions below.

 

12. Search results are arranged by:

                a. date

                b. alphabetically

                c. relevance

 

13. Relevance in library database searching refers to:

                a. significance of the journal article

                b. a mathematical algorithm that ranks results based on where and how often a word appears

                c. a ranking determined by the most viewed journal articles

 

14. Which of the options listed below can you *not* use in Super Search to limit your search results?

                a. books

                b. journal articles

                c. date

                d. country

                e. publisher

                f. language

 

15. Open up a record from your results list.  What is the abstract? 

                a. a reviewer’s recommendation on the worth of the article

                b. the bibliographic record that lists the author and the title of the article

                c. the summary of the article

 

16. What are subject headings? 

                a. words that the article is tagged with to show what it is about

                b. random words that appear in the article

                c. words that readers attach to a journal article

 

17. How can you tell if any particular result is a good article?

                a. If it is listed first on the results page, it is a good article.

                b. If the publication date is recent, it must be a good article.

                c. I must decide for myself.

 

18. Why would you email a record to yourself?

                a. so you can keep a record of what you found

                b. so you can use technology

                c. because email is fun

 

SECTION FIVE:  FINDING MORE GOOD SOURCES

Choose one good journal article from a search on Super Search.  Open up the full text of the record so that you can see the whole article.

 

19. What is a bibliography?

                a. a summary of the article 

                b. a list of subject headings

                c. a list of references at the end of the article

 

20. Using a bibliography,how can you find out if our library has this book or journal article?

                a. do a Google search 

                b. walk around the library

                c. check Super Search for the book or article

 

21. Do a search on "international students" in Google Scholar.  Choose one journal article. Click on the “Cited by” option on the left side below the article.  What results does this open up?

                a. the bibliography of the article

                b. a list of other articles that include this article in their bibliography

                c. a list of other articles written by the same author

 

22. Of all the ways listed below, which is *not” a good way to contact a librarian for further help?

                a. in person

                b. by email

                c. by instant chat

                d. by phone

                e. by sitting in the library and hoping someone notices you look frustrated

 

NOTE:  Contact your librarian for more help.

Karen Bordonaro at kbordonaro@brocku.ca

 

SECTION SIX:  YOUR SEARCH

Use the space below to

  1. Write your thesis statement:

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

  1. Identify places to start your search:

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

  1. Turn your thesis statement into a library search statement:

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

  1. List different forms of the search statement you can try to find other similar results (use different words, combine them differently):

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

  1. Choose one journal article that you think is good and list its bibliographic elements below:

 

Author: 

_______________________________________________________________________

 

Title of article:  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Name of journal:

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Journal volume and issue numbers: 

_________________________________________________

 

Publication date of journal: 

_______________________________________________________

 

Pages:

________________________________________________________________________

 

Answer Key available from librarian:  kbordonaro@brocku.ca

James A. Gibson LibraryBrock UniversityKaren Bordonaro, 2016