Find short video tutorials on topics including how to develop a search strategy, how to use Omni, and more.
There are many online tutorials on how to search individual databases, creating search strategies, executing searches, citing and acquiring scholarly peer-review journal articles.
Key databases include MEDLINE, Embase, Web of Science Core Collection, PsycINFO, Google Scholar, and discipline-specific database such as CINHAL Complete (Nursing), Education Source, ERIC (Education), ProQuest Sociology Collection, and more listed on the Brock Library Find a Database page.
MEDLINE is accessed at Brock through several vendors including Web of Science Complete, Ovid, PubMed, and SciFinder-n (chemistry). Most searchers learn to use the open and free PubMed search database that when linked to the Brock proxy server brings up full-text articles. Yet, MEDLINE using Ovid provides integrated access to MeSH subject headings and controlled thesaurus terms. MEDLINE using Web of Science Complete allows for keyword and subject searching with a robust search interface.
Search YouTube for academic videos on searching, databases, developing search strategies, etc., here are a few:
Searching MEDLINE via the Web of Science (Elizabeth Yates, 2019, YouTube, 9:36)
PubMed: Building a Search (John Hopkins, 2020, YouTube, 17:13)
Ovid Medline Part 1 - Starting Your Search (McMaster Health Sciences Library, 2020, YouTube, 7:46)
Ovid Medline Part 2 - Refining Your Search (McMaster Health Sciences Library, 2014, YouTube, 6:45)