Research Guides: MGMT 4P94: Transnational Business Management: Strategic Analysis Assignment

Assignment Research Requirements

For your Strategic Analysis Assignment, you are being asked to:

analyze a chosen enterprise's business plan for transnational operations.
assess what the enterprise has done, is doing, and should do in the future.
assess the cultural, political, legal, economic, and other issues of each market involved.
provide a recommendation that may help the enterprise leverage innovations and achieve efficiency and effectiveness.

Internal Assessment

Your internal assessment will comprise of information you have gathered about your chosen company including any comparisons to competitors or similar companies. Along with gathering any useful information from your chosen company's website including annual reports and stakeholder information, library databases are recommended to search for company facts and analysis including financial data and investment analysis that is more difficult or not possible to find online.

Types of information to look for include: company profiles, SWOT analysis, company financials, annual reports, news articles.

For additional resources linked to company/industry research see the Company and Industry Research Guide

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- A deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.
- Permitted Uses
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.
- Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.
- Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window
- Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countries
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
- Permitted Uses
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- All disciplines of business
- Find scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazines
- Includes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reports
- Permitted Uses

External Assessment

Your external assessment will comprise of information you have gathered about the cultural, political, legal, economic, and other issues related to your chosen company and the markets it's involved in. It is recommended that you make use of the library's databases that provide access to proprietary analysis on a global level.

Types of information to look for include: industry profiles and analysis, market share data, consumer trends, country reports, economic analysis.

For additional resources linked to conducting an external assessment/analysis see the External Analysis Research Guide

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window
- Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.
- Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
- Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window
- Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countries
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
- Permitted Uses
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- Includes market research, market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.
- Brock University has access to Mintel Reports for Canada and USA, which covers a wide variety of sectors, themes, and demographics.
- Coverage:Canadian Reports 2014-current ; US Reports 2008-current ; content added monthly, with most reports updated annually
- Permitted Uses
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.
- Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.
- Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

Fitch Solutions Country Risk Reports (via ProQuest)
Updated quarterly, Fitch Solutions Country Risk Reports includes a 10 year forecast of economic indicators, a political and economic outlook (with SWOT analysis and risk ratings) and reviews of key sectors (autos, food & drink, and other key sectors). Reports are also available for many other countries. [Brock University Licensed Resource]
more info...close...
Access restricted to Brock University students, faculty, and staff.