Research Guides: Classics and Archaeology: Key Resources

Key Resources

Key resources are your best bet when you're looking to get started with research right away. Please read the descriptions carefully.

Omni This link opens in a new window
- Brock's largest Interdisciplinary search tool
- Millions of journal articles, books & ebooks, newspapers, videos, magazines and more!
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- The digital Loeb Classical Library extends the founding mission of James Loeb with an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Database of journal articles and books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business.
- Most content is more than 3 years old
- Permitted Uses
- Brock has fulltext access to a subset of JSTOR eBooks including Music Set 1 (2016), Film Sets 1-3 (2017), and Language & Literature Sets 1-2 (2017).
- A Database Guide is available.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- The most comprehensive index to scholarly literature in Classics. Includes journal articles, books, collections, festschriften, conference papers, etc.
- Coverage: 1928-current (with a 2-3 year delay)
- Permitted Uses
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
- Includes most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
- Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
- Each user must create a user profile , and after confirming registration by e-mail, can access the database at anytime from both on and off campus.
- Permitted Uses
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- Covers all aspects of the ancient world, from literature and history to religion, science and archaeology.
- Continuously updated and expanded with articles written by leading international authors.
- Permitted Uses
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth, peer-reviewed essays and introductions by leading scholars in Archaeology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology
- Permitted Uses