Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Also note that there are Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Health, Engineering, preprint, open and related databases.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of Brock Library including open databases are listed below.

Omni This link opens in a new window
- Brock's largest Interdisciplinary search tool
- Millions of journal articles, books & ebooks, newspapers, videos, magazines and more!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- Find life and biological sciences scholarly articles, 1926 to the present.
- Part of the Web of Science Complete database collection.
- Permitted Uses