Research Guides: Earth Sciences: ERSC 2P18

Library Seminar Resources for ERSC 2P18 Assignment

Information and Resources provided as part of a ERSC 2P18 Winter 2024 seminar.

Library Seminar slides (PDF)

ERSC 2P18 Library Assignment Form (Google Docs)

ERSC 2P18 Completed Library Assignment Kapuskasing Uplift (Google Docs)

What's Peer Review? (YouTube, Brock Library, 2021, 1:33)

How to Reference Geospatial Data, Maps, Atlases, Air photos (PDF, Brock MDG Library)

Brock Library Article Databases
There are several databases that index and abstract the world's research. Those used for this assignment may include Omni, Google Scholar, and GeoRef (a must use!). Databases that scan full-text resources of articles include GeoScienceWorld, BASE, CORE, and Scholars Portal E-Journals. Your task is to find at least five post 1990 resources with two being peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- International coverage of earth sciences, geology and related geosciences literature.
- Find journal articles, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, geological surveys, theses, dissertations, reports, and maps.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes: The U.S. Geological Survey library in Reston, VA (1967 to date), the Bibliography of North American Geology (1785-1970), the Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America (1933-1968), Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates (1973-1991), and Geophysical Abstracts (1951-1971) and select records from Geoline (1985 -), PASCAL (1982 -), and several state and national geologic surveys.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
- A comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geosciences linked to, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes GeoRef search engine and scholarly publications from a variety of international societies.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Useful for finding journal articles published on a topic or to discover who has cited a particular author and/or paper.
- Permitted Uses

GeologyOntario
Search using this database by keyword and phrases to find alternate resources to learn more about the significance of your topic, find a map or develop a list of additional keywords. This database does not incude journal articles, but does include essential references on Ontario geology published by government researchers. Your task is to find a Geological Survey of Ontario Report or a series of maps and data that supplements your feature. Again, only Ontario.
GEOSCAN (Canada GSC)
Publications of the Geological Survey of Canada and the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing Canada Topographic Maps. GEOSCAN links to external publications including journal articles, open source publications, and reports authored by ESS scientists and specialists.

Books and resources of supplementary interest:

List of Canadian, provincial, and regional geology surveys, agencies and departments (Manitoba, Economic Development, Investment, Trade and Natural Resources)
Landscapes and Landforms of Eastern Canada (2020)
Landscapes and Landforms of Western Canada (2017)
Plate Tectonics: Continental Drift and Mountain Building (course textbook, 1st edition, 2011)
Plate Tectonics: Continental Drift and Mountain Building (course textbook, 2nd edition, 2022)
Geology of Ontario (2 volumes, Brock Library print copy, 1991-92, OGS)
Geology of Ontario (GeologyOntario, PDF, downloadable volume 1 copy, 1991-92, OGS)
Geology of Ontario (GeologyOntario, PDF, downloadable volume 2 copy, 1991-92, OGS)
Fifty years of the Wilson Cycle Concept in Plate Tectonics (2019, Geological Society)
- Introductory Overview Essay (PDF)
Geological Evolution of North America (1979, 3rd ed)
Continents and Supercontinents (2004)
Exposed Cross-sections of the Continental Crust (1990)
Plate Tectonics and Crustal Evolution (note different print and older ebook editions, Condie)
Decade of North American Geology (1986, 36 volumes, classic description of NA geology, including tectonic plates, ask for help finding the volume and corresponding map sets)
Regional Stratigraphy of North America (1987)
Large Igneous Provinces (2014)
Plate Boundaries and Natural Hazards (2016)
This Dynamic Earth: The Story of Plate Tectonics (USGS)
Plate Tectonics and Great Earthquakes: 50 Years of Earth-Shaking Events (2019)
Plate Tectonics Continental Drift and Mountain Building (2011)
Principles of Rock Deformation and Tectonics (2021, based on lab, teaching and field experiences)
The Tectonic Plates are Moving (2018, gotta read chapter titled Plate Tectonics by Jerks)
Geology of the Canadian Shield in Ontario: An Update (2007, GSC Open File 5511,PDF)
The Geology of North America: An Overview (1989, a classic NA resource similar to the Geology of Ontario, GSA)
Plate Tectonic Evolution from 1 Billion Years ago to the Present (2021, EarthByte, YouTube, 40 seconds)
Principles of Rock Deformation and Tectonics (2021)
Regional Geology and Tectonics: Principles of Geologic Analysis (2020)
Tuzo :The Unlikely Revolutionary of Plate Tectonics (2022)