Research Guides: Canadian Studies: Maps & Data

Maps, Data & GIS Library

The Brock University Map Library is the map and geographic information centre for Brock University housing a vast collection of traditional paper maps, atlases and air photos as well as providing faculty, staff, students and the general public access to geospatial resources.

Historical Maps of Niagara

Visit the Map Library in the Mackenzie Chown Complex, C-block, room C306.

Please feel free to contact anyone in Maps, Data & GIS; we want to hear from you:

Sharon Janzen, Map Library Associate/Geospatial Data Coordinator
sjanzen@brocku.ca
905-688-5550 Ext. 5890

Tim Ribaric
Digital Scholarship Librarian
tribaric@brocku.ca
905-688-5550 Ext. 5358

General questions about maps & GIS: maplib @brocku.ca

Niagara Maps This link opens in a new window
- Digital maps of the Niagara region, including historical and topographical maps, as well as Census of Canada maps.

Data Portals

These sites include a range of data and statistics from Canadian government and other sources.

CANSIM @ CHASS This link opens in a new window
- The Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System (CANSIM) is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database.
- Also included are some major economic indicators from the United States.
- Permitted Uses
Conference Board of Canada e-Data Service This link opens in a new window
- Canadian economic trends at the national, provincial, municipal, industrial and international levels.
- Includes: Canadian Medium-term and long-term; Provincial Medium-term and long-term; Territorial; Metropolitan Medium-term; Consumer Confidence; Consumer Confidence; Business Confidence; U.S. Short-term; Canadian Industrial; Help-Wanted Index; Population and Household Formation
- NOTE: if you are having trouble accessing the site please create an account using your Brock email
- Permitted Uses

DLI (Data Liberation Initiative)
The DLI is a project within Statistics Canada to make socio-economic microdata available to researchers and academics. Some DLI datasets may be downloaded directly; others must be requested from the DLI contact at Brock (Nicole Stradiotto). Browse the complete list of DLI surveys.
Natural Resources Canada: Data and Analysis
Links to data sources are provided under each subtopic: Energy, Forests, Minerals, etc. If you don't see the word "data" look for "statistics", "resources", "publications".

ODESI: Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure Initiative This link opens in a new window
- Odesi provides open and enhanced access to a variety of data collections such as Statistics Canada’s Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) public use microdata, historical datasets, and Canadian public opinion polls, including the Gallup Canada, IPSOS Canada, and the Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA).
- Also includes Borealis (the Canadian Dataverse Repository).
- Permitted Uses
Help Guide

Open Data (Government of Canada)
"Data.gc.ca provides one-stop access to the Government of Canada’s searchable open data and open information, together with open dialogue, as part of the federal government’s commitment to enhance transparency and accountability."
Research Data Centre Program (Statistics Canada)
Statistics Canada's Research Data Centres (RDCs) are part of a national university initiative to allow access to Statistics Canada master files with a view to strengthen social research capacity and support social and economic policy analysis in Canada. The closest RDC to Brock University is the McMaster RDC which provides researchers secure access to detailed Statistics Canada data. Please see their website for the application process.
Statistics Canada
Canadian data, statistics, reports, and analysis on a wide range of socio-economic topics, including the Census.
Statistics Canada: Historical Resources 1867-1970s
Includes Canada Year Book, Historical Statistics of Canada, early 20th Century censuses, and documents from the Dominion Bureau of Statistics.

Niagara Multi-Disciplinary Data Resources

Niagara Community Information Database
A directory of community services and organizations located in or serving the Nigara region. Search by keyword, organization name, subject or service category. Limit results by Community.
Niagara Open Data
This site will enable you to access and use datasets from various organizations in Niagara, including: municipalities, community groups, provincial agencies, not for profits, schools and more.
Community Information Database
The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.

The CID was developed by the Government of Canada’s Rural Secretariat in collaboration with the provinces and territories, other government departments, and community groups.

The CID provides: Access to over 500 pieces of data about your community or region, including: population, education, income, employment, families, and much more.

Interactive mapping and chart generation rounds out this very useful resource.
NIagara Knowledge Exchange
The Niagara Knowledge Exchange provides access, news and ideas on Niagara-focused planning, collaboration, and community action.

Niagara Socio-Economic Data

Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce
The Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce is a regionally based business organization in Niagara. With the support of business and community leaders, the Chamber is an advocate to all levels of government for business. Resources include a Funding Portal, Export information, member directory and monthly newsletters among others.
Niagara Community Observatory - Policy Briefs & Activities
The Community Observatory works "in partnership with the Niagara community to foster, produce, and disseminate evidence-based research on current and emerging issues."
Niagara Economic Development
Provides information to businesses considering relocating to Niagara. Includes a business directory, business publications such as NEDC annual reports, government reports relevant to the Niagara region, agri-business reports, consultants reports, and tourism reports.
Niagara Connects (formerly Niagara Research and Planning Council)
Niagara Connects is a Niagara-wide network of people for collaboration, planning, learning, innovation and community action toward a stronger future for Niagara. Mission: “Generating knowledge that drives community action”.
Niagara Workforce Planning Board
The mission of the Board is to "lead in the creation of innovative labour market solutions by bringing people together." Resources include labour, economic and demographic reports, etc.
Natural Areas Inventory
The inventory data, from 2006-2009, provides "up-to-date natural areas information that acts as a tremendous benefit in the development of greater environmental awareness within the community and, as a scientifically-defensible baseline for use in planning decisions and policy development."