Research Guides: Biochemistry: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

MEDLINE is available via OVID, PubMed, SciFInder-n and Web of Science Complete.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- Find life and biological sciences scholarly articles, 1926 to the present.
- Part of the Web of Science Complete database collection.
- Permitted Uses
Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
MEDLINE - via Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical, biomedicine and health research literature. MEDLINE indexes over 18 million references to articles from over 5,500 newspapers, newsletters and magazines including 1,500 core journals. MEDLINE covers research topics in biology, environmental science, plant and animal science, marine biology , chemistry, biophysics and related intradisciplinary fields. MEDLINE accommodates keyword searching while facilitating the use of MeSH Thesaurus controlled vocabulary, headings, qualifiers and major topics. MEDLINE via Web of Knowledge provides a unique ability to analyze and refine search results, sort records, save search histories, utilize EndNote Web and Refworks bibliographic management tools and create customized citation alerts that automatically sends citations of interest to your email account.
- Coverage: 1950-current ; updated weekly.
- Permitted Uses
Embase This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive biomedical database including more than 30 million records from more than 8,500 journals.
- Notable coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology as well as robust international content.
- Coverage: 1974-current
- Permitted Uses
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- Core chemistry, medicine, health, environmental and scientific journals, patents from international agencies, single and multi-step reactions, predicted and experimental property values, reports and dissertations from 1800s-present.
- This database used to be called SciFinder-n, and includes those same features and content.
- Includes CAplus, MEDLINE, CAS Registry, and CASREACTS
- Features include Retrosynthesis, Biosequence, PatentPak, and Methods Synthesis
- For access on and off campus - register for account, create username & password, confirm registration by e-mail
- Disable pop-up blocking while accessing the site.
- Permitted Uses
Quick Reference Guide