Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Theses & Dissertations

Theses & Dissertations databases

Theses (Masters, BSc) and dissertations (PhD) are essential sources of information. Different search engines and databases provide both unique and overlapping coverage of these types of documents. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global provides coverage of both dissertations and theses from North American, increasingly world-wide and English-speaking institutions since 1861.

Finding Theses and Dissertations
A comprehensive guide to Library databases and sources to identify theses and dissertations.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Full text access for dissertations since 1997 and citation level access to dissertations and theses from 1861
- Includes PQDT UK & Ireland content
- Permitted Uses
Brock Theses This link opens in a new window
- Electronic versions of Brock Masters and PhD degrees.
- Print copies are no longer available for most graduate theses (except M.Ed. degrees, available in the Instructional Resource Centre, Faculty of Education).
- Coverage: 1969-present
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Thesis and Dissertation guide
Global ETD Search This link opens in a new window
- Find e-theses and dissertations archived in the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) archive.

EThOS: e-theses online service (U.K.)
Participating U.K. institutions' doctoral dissertations.
OpenThesis
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
WorldCat
Identify unique dissertations and theses not duplicated by other databases. Limit your search at any time by the filter Content: Thesis/dissertations.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Chemistry and interdisciplinary dissertations (not MSc theses) since 1942. Register for a free password to search and download records.
Quick Reference Guide
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
- An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- Incorporates American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
- Coverage: Early 20th century-present
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
- Lists all Canadian theses archived by the National Library of Canada since 1965
- Full text is available for theses from 1998-August 2002
- Theses not available in full text can be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site

TROVE
Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia and hundreds of Partner organisations around Australia. A catalogue of documents that can limit results by theses with links to content when available.