Skip to main content



Biological Sciences

A guide for help students and faculty find key resources for the Biological Sciences at the James A. Gibson library.

Scholarly Databases

Many different overlapping databases also individually provide access to unique scholarly and peer-reviewed content. Consult figshare to find papers and separate figures, tables and charts of interest. Finding individual articles by citation using Omni is fairly straightforward. 

There are several services that translate journal name abbreviations to full names including All That JAS, Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations, and Brock Library's Journals (just enter abbreviation - full name will come out if found).

A core database is Web of Science Complete which searches together all platform databases including BIOSIS Citation Index, Web of Science Core Collection, Zoological Record, and MEDLINE. You can click on and off individual databases at leisure. Also, WofS is probably one of the best databases to find, track, cite and read cited references (papers in this database that cite an individual paper once published). Web of Science Core Collection just searches highly ranked journals and their papers as determined by WofS.

News & Media Databases

News and media databases provide articles on all topics, give opinion, background, quotes, etc. and many times provide unique content not found in other databases to include Canadian magazines, newswire, newspaper, and editorials. Search ProQuest databases CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies separately or together, CPI.Q for unique content, and consult the list of alternate News Databases to search individual newspapers e.g. St. Catharines Standard, historical newspapers e.g. Globe & Mail, New York Times, Time (London), and regional papers. Search LexisNexis and Factiva separately to find regional, Canadian and international real time, fulltext articles.