Skip to main content



Visual Arts

Top Databases for Visual Arts

Lely, Peter (1618-1680). Portrait of Louise de Keroualle, Duchess of Portsmouth (detail). 1671-1674. Oil on canvas. 125.1 × 101.6 cm (49 1/4 × 40 in.). England. From: The J. Paul Getty Museum, https://www.getty.edu/art/collection/ (accessed January 27, 2020).

 

What is a database? When we talk about databases, what we are referring to are specialized search tools that contain a subject or discipline-specific collection of published materials like books, articles, images, video, and/or audio. There are many databases available to Brock University students. Below you will find a short list of suggested databases to explore in the Visual Arts.

 

 

Looking for a Place to Start? Explore These.

Make sure to log in to Omni to get full access.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

This list consists of databases that have collections across many disciplines or subject areas. They include resources relating to the Visual Arts.

 

 

Primary Sources

Explore these databases for manuscripts, diaries, letters, government documents, memoirs, oral histories, photographs, and other printed and visual primary source materials.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Images from: McDarrah, Fred W., McDarrah, Gloria S., and McDarrah, Timothy S. Anarchy. Protest & Rebellion and the Counterculture That Changed America. New York: Thunder’s Mouth Press, 2003, p. 140. Accessed January 28, 2020, "The Sixties: Primary Documents & Personal Narratives 1960-1974."

 

 

 

Interlibrary Loan/ RACER - articles

Racer logo

What if Brock does not have the article I need?

RACER Interlibrary Loan allows users to search in all Ontario university and worldwide libraries to place requests for items that Brock does not own.

First-time users need to register & create a PIN. More information here.

Search RACER Now

Need help? Watch the RACER Set up and Simple Search video tutorial.