There are several databases that index and abstract the world's research. Those used for this assignment may include SuperSearch, Google Scholar, and GeoRef (a must use!). Databases that scan full-text resources of articles include GeoScienceWorld and Scholars Portal E-Journals. Good news! SuperSearch searches GeoRef, Academic Search and Web of Science simultaneously. Your task is to find two post 1990 articles on your topic and make a copy of the first page of each article cited. Use the Get it! button, A-Z List of e-Journals, SuperSearch or the Brock Library Catalogue to find if we own full-text of articles.
How to find locations, names, and information about your research topic, area, and place in the geological landscape. Your task is to use these databases to find more information about your topic's geographic area.
Search unique databases and individual encyclopedias/dictionaries using your topic and related keywords to learn more about stratigraphic, geological, formations, time scales and general vocabulary. This resource will help you find additional keywords, synonyms and geological information.
Search using this database by keyword and phrases to find alternate resources to learn more about the significance of your topic, find a map or develop a list of additional keywords. This database does not incude journal articles, but does include essential references on Ontario geology published by government researchers. Your task is to find a Geological Survey of Ontario Report for your geographic area that helps to explain significance, history and economic importance.
Excellent reading to define and provide context for your topic area and signifigance to Earth Sciences. Both volumes are available for 3-hour loan on Reserve at the James A. Gibson Library Circulation Desk and in the Map Library with the call number QE 191 G46 1991 pt.1 and pt.2. These volumes are searchable and in full text using the GeologyOntario database.
Geology of the Precambrian Superior and Grenville Provinces... FL5 QE 71 G48 1986 v.C-1 One book of a multi-volume set located on the 5th floor by the GSC with review articles covering the geology of North America.