Skip to main content



Mathematics

Article databases

The James A. Gibson Library does not retain access to the Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.This database covers the entire contents of over 160 "core journals", selectively from about 1200 additional journals, and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975. Access is provided to ASA (American Statistical Association) and IMS (Institute of Mathematical Statistics) members. Use MathSciNet, Google Scholar and/or other databases to find these resources. 

Brock's SuperSearch database is awesome, it includes all the content found in MathSciNet, Web of Science, etc. it is a first search alternative when wanting to find research.

There are several alternate services that translate journal name abbreviations to full names including All That JAS, Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations, and Brock Library's A_Z List of Journals (just enter abbreviation - full name will come out if found).

Searching Aids & Alternate databases

News & Media Resources

News and media databases provide articles on all topics, give opinion, background, quotes, etc. and many times provide unique content not found in other databases to include Canadian magazines, newswire, newspaper, and editorials. Search ProQuest databases CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies separately or together, CPI.Q for unique content, and consult the list of alternate News Databases to search individual newspapers e.g. St. Catharines Standard, historical newspapers e.g. Globe & Mail, New York Times, Time (London), and regional papers. Search LexisNexis to find regional, Canadian and international real time, fulltext articles.