The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field.This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. It includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism.
This five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Provides situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.
Social justice, sometimes called civil justice, refers to the concept of a society in which justice is achieved in every aspect of society, rather than merely the administration of law. It is generally thought of as a world which affords individuals and groups fair treatment and an impartial share of the benefits of society. It can also refer to the distribution of advantages and disadvantages within a society. Social justice is both a philosophical problem and an important issue in politics, religion and civil society.
This handbook examines education theory, research, and practice in historical and ideological context, with an emphasis on social movements for justice. Each section explores a primary theme of social justice and education- including race, class, gender, sexuality, disability, and environment through an educational lens.