Skip to main content



Organizational Behaviour & Human Resources

Tips on finding articles, books & background info on OBHR topics; labour law sources; writing & citing help.

Citing Business Sources in APA Style (Brock University Library)

This guide will walk you through the entire process of citing sources from creating in-text citations to your References list. It includes example citations from popular Business databases and statistics sources, as well as examples of how to cite audiovisual materials, and how to cite sources in your business presentations.

Citing Legal Materials

The following sites provide guidance on citing legal materials such as cases and legislation:

Citing LabourSource (formerly Labour Spectrum)

The LabourSource database contains a variety of types of sources such as:

  1. cases and decisions
  2. legislation
  3. commentary.

A generic APA Style reference list entry and an example for each of these types appears below.

1. Cases and Decisions (e.g. Labour Arbitration Cases)

Name v. Name, Volume Source Abbreviation (Series) Page (Date)

Ontario v. O.P.S.E.U., 219 L.A.C. (4th) 151 (2012)


2. Legislation (Statutes and Regulations)

Legislation is cited in APA Style according to standard legal citation style. In Canada, we follow the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation.

Title of Act,  Statute volume abbreviation, year, chapter and section number (if necessary)


Labour Relations Act, S.O. 1995, s. 70 


3. Commentary (e.g. Brown & Beatty)

There are several ways to cite entries in an online reference work such as Brown & Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration.

Reference List Sample Citation for an entire reference work

Author A. & Author B. (Eds.). (Year). Title of work. Location: Publisher

or

Author A. & Author B.  (Eds.). (Year). Title of work. Retrieved from URL or Name of Database

Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.). (2006). Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book.

or

Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.). (2006). Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book. Retrieved from LabourSource database.


Reference List Sample Citation for an entry from a reference work (with no page numbers).

If there are no page numbers, APA Style allows you to refer to the chapter title or entry title. Since the paragraph number is often used in references to Brown & Beatty, you can include both elements as illustrated below.

Title of chapter or entry. (Year)  In. A. Editor, B. Editor. (Eds.), Title of book . Location: Publisher. Retrieved from Database name.

1:5300 Jurisdictional Error. (2006). In Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.), Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book. Retrieved from LabourSource database.