Research Guides: Canadian Studies: Newspapers

Niagara Newspapers

Niagara Peninsula Papers
A list of 20 rare Niagara-based newspapers on microfilm (covers 1799 to 1898 – non inclusive).
Niagara community newspapers on microfilm
Early newspapers from Niagara (1850s to 1940s)
St. Catharines Standard - 1982-
Coverage from 1982 to the present
Niagara Newsfax Collection
This archive contains newspaper clippings from the Niagara region pertaining to business and economics, in both paper and electronic formats.
St. Catharines Newspapers
Niagara Falls Newspapers
Thorold Newspapers
Port Colborne Newspapers

Globe and Mail @ Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page newspaper archive of The Globe from 1844.
Toronto Star @ ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Toronto Star from 1894
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers published in Canada
- Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
- Permitted Uses
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of 20 Canadian daily newspapers that include the Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, among others. Content is updated daily with a 2 to 7-day embargo period. Non current coverage of the St. Catharines Standard (1996 - 2006) and Niagara Falls Review (1996 - 2006) is also available.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable access of The Times (London) 1785 to 1985.
Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Searches current and historical archives. Some articles are free, others are pay-per-view.