Research Guides: WGST 1F90: Finding Books/Articles/Media

For finding scholarly articles...

Find articles on all aspects of women and gender using one or more of the databases listed below:

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
The best source for journal coverage of women and gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health and sexual diversity issues.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The primary resource for psychology, containing citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, theses, dissertations and reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

For finding media articles...

To find articles in newspapers and magazines (non-peer-reviewed), try these:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to Magazines in Source Type.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
For articles in major Canadian newspapers, including the Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in journals, magazines and newspapers published in Canada.
Omni This link opens in a new window
Use Omni to find books, articles and more.

NEWSPAPER ARCHIVES (for older stuff)

Toronto Star @ ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Full text of the Toronto Star from 1894-present.
- 2 year delay on current content
- Access available current issues of the Toronto Star
- Permitted Uses
Globe and Mail @ Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Full page newspaper archive including all stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to pre-confederation era
- 1844 - present (4 year delay on current content)
- Permitted Uses
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- Backfiles to The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985
- Find political, legal, business and social news, advertisements, book reviews, the royal Court, letters to the editor, obituaries, sports and theatre articles
- Permitted Uses

Finding articles

Once you have chosen a database, brainstorm some search terms and enter them in the search boxes. Some tips:

Combine concepts using AND (women AND income)
Combine synonyms or similar concepts using OR (women OR female)
Use * to truncate (canad* will find canada, canadian, etc.)
use quotation marks to search for a phrase ("unpaid work"; "higher education")
You don't have to use all your keywords in the first search. You can always add more keywords later. More search strategies.

Strategies for Using Keywords to Search

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals

Some scholarly journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. This means that the articles have been critiqued and evaluated by other researchers and experts in the field.

Also see: Peer-reviewed, popular magazine, or journal? (Brock Library)

What about books?

You may want to look at books or chapters in books for more general information, historical perspectives or for an overview of a topic.

You can use Omni to search for books. Limit your search results to Resource Type: Books & eBooks for best results.

Watch Meet Omni to find out more.