Skip to main content



MPAC 5P61: Corporate Governance

A brief guide to researching corporate governance issues.

Follow the Financial News

Your professor expects you to be able to follow the financial news by regularly scanning sources such as:

  • The National Post and the Financial Post
  • The Globe and Mail and the Report of Business Magazine
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • or the Financial Times

Most of these financial news source websites are behind a paywall, so you may only see a preview, rather than the full text of a story, if you are not a subscriber.  

  • The good news is that you can use the Library's Journal Search tool in Omni (which also includes newspapers) to identify the source for free full-text access via one of our many Library Databases such as FactivaCanadian Major Dailies or Nexis Uni.
  • The bad news is that some of these sources have delays (embargoes) ranging from a few days to one month. 

Library Databases

Other Useful Search Tools

Business & Financial News Sources

Examples of Embargo Delays in Library Databases
Newspaper or Magazine Database Delay
The Economist Economist No Delay
The Globe and Mail

Canadian Major Dailies

CPI.Q

Factiva

No Delay

Delayed 1 Day

No Delay

The National Post

Canadian Major Dailies

Factiva

Delayed 1 Day

No Delay

The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (NY)

Business Premium Collection

Factiva

No Delay

No Delay

The Financial Times & FT.Com (London, UK)

Business Premium Collection

Academic OneFile

Factiva

Delayed 1 Month

Delayed 1 Month

Delayed 1 Month