Skip to main content



MSCM 5P03 Empirical Finance I

Information and data sources for investment research

Follow the Financial News

You can follow the financial news by regularly scanning sources such as:

  • The National Post and the Financial Post
  • The Globe and Mail and the Report of Business
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • The Financial Times
  • The Economist

Most of these financial news sources are behind a paywall, so you may only see a preview, rather than the full text of a story, if you are not a subscriber.  

  • The good news is that you can use the Library's A-Z List of Journals (which also includes newspapers) to identify the source for free full-text access via one of our many Library Databases such as FactivaCanadian Newsstand, or Academic One File.
  • The bad news is that some of these sources have delays (embargoes) ranging from a few days to one month. 

Google News Search is another option for finding current news headlines, but you may not be able to read the full text articles.

Library Databases

Other Useful Search Tools

Business & Financial News Sources

Examples of Embargo Delays in Library Databases
Newspaper or Magazine Database Delay
The Economist Economist No Delay
The Globe and Mail

Canadian Major Dailies

Factiva

No Delay

No Delay

The National Post

Canadian Major Dailies

Factiva

Delayed 1 Day

No Delay

The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (NY)

ABI/Inform Global

Factiva

No Delay

No Delay

The Financial Times & FT.Com (London, UK)

ABI/Inform Global 

Academic OneFile

Factiva

Delayed 1 Month

Delayed 1 Month

Delayed 1 Month