Research Guides: Biophysics: Data

Data

Databases that include chemical data, properties and safety information are numerous.

To find specific chemicals, compounds and safety information, check out our Chemicals / Drugs page and consider the resources below for more information.

ChEMBL
- A database of bioactive drug-like small molecules. includes 2D line structures, properties, and bioactivities.
ChemSynthesis
- An accessible database of over 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references.
Colby Organic Database
figshare
- A cloud-based data repository for researcher profiles and research outputs, shared in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. Multiple file formats supported.
MassBank
- A public repository of high resolution mass spectral data for life sciences, particularly small chemical compounds.
MatWeb
- Online materials information resource
NIST Chemistry WebBook
- Covers chemical and physical properties, including chemical structure, spectra, and phase change data. Can be searched by chemical species or related data.
NMRShiftDB
- Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) web database. Covers organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance
Organic Chemistry Portal
- Provides an overview of recent topics, reactions, and information relevant to organic chemists.
Organic Syntheses
- Contains reactions, methods for preparing organic compounds
Sigma Aldrich Catalog (MilliporeSigma)
- Provides tools, services and information related to various life sciences processes and applications. Includes information on Safety Data Sheets (SDS) and Certificates (COA/COO) for products.
SpectraBase
- A spectral database including organic compounds, inorganic compounds, and polymers

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor)
Call Number: Current print edition (2022/23) on Reserve, older edition in the stacks FL5 QD 65 C498.

ISBN: 1032425202

Publication Date: 2022, 2023
- The handbook includes standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units, as well as information on chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature.
The Yaws Handbook of Physical Properties for Hydrocarbons and Chemicals by Carl L. Yaws
Call Number: Read Online

ISBN: 9780128011461

Publication Date: 2015
- Presents an easy-to-use format with rapid access to search through 54 000 total compounds. includes information on boiling points, density and refractory index