Research Guides: Computer Science: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Databases

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Core Collection
- A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Useful for finding journal articles published on a topic or to discover who has cited a particular author and/or paper.
- Permitted Uses
ACM Digital Library
- Covers computing literature from all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books as well as publications from select publishers.
- Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1954-current (bibliographic citations with abstracts for journals and magazines)
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Provides access to some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Limited to 50 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
- Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).
INSPEC
- Covers scientific and technical literature in physics and astronomy, electrical engineering and electronics, communications, computers and control, mechanical and production engineering, and information technology.
- Content includes journals, conference proceedings, preprints, reports, books, patents, dissertations, standards, patents, videos, trade journals and consumer magazines, dating back to 1969.
Compendex
- A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
- Comprises journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
- Coverage: 1970-present

AI tools and preprints

New, Ai-assisted, and open scholarly databases include: Dimensions, CORE, BASE, Elicit, Keenious, Open Alex, OSF Preprints, Paperity, Perplexity, SciELO, Scilit, Semantic Scholar, ResearchRabbit, The Lens, Undermind & Zenodo.

There are several preprint databases that publish open manuscripts of articles prior to being published by journals. These are valuable resources to search and browse through when searching emergent, new and interdisciplinary areas. These databases include: ArXiv.org, CiteSeerX, OSF Preprints, Preprints.org and others.