Research Guides: Kinesiology: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

MEDLINE is available via OVID, PubMed, SciFinder-n and Web of Science Complete. Web of Science Complete includes Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS and more.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Core Collection
- A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Useful for finding journal articles published on a topic or to discover who has cited a particular author and/or paper.
- Permitted Uses
Sport Discus
- Scholarly literature covering all aspects of sport including, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- Permitted Uses
MEDLINE - via OVID
- Explore research in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
- Search precisely with MeSH terms.
- Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Coverage: 1946-current
- Permitted Uses
Basic Search Guide
Advanced Search: Keyword Searching
Advanced Search: Mapping
Embase
- Comprehensive biomedical database including more than 30 million records from more than 8,500 journals.
- Notable coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology as well as robust international content.
- Coverage: 1974-current
- Permitted Uses