Skip to main content



VISA 2P88

Contemporary Art: 21st Century

Use the following sources to locate secondary sources (scholarly & popular) on contemporary art. 

Top Databases for Visual Arts

Lely, Peter (1618-1680). Portrait of Louise de Keroualle, Duchess of Portsmouth (detail). 1671-1674. Oil on canvas. 125.1 × 101.6 cm (49 1/4 × 40 in.). England. From: The J. Paul Getty Museum, https://www.getty.edu/art/collection/ (accessed January 27, 2020).

 

What is a database? When we talk about databases, what we are referring to are specialized search tools that contain a subject or discipline-specific collection of published materials like books, articles, images, video, and/or audio. There are many databases available to Brock University students. Below you will find a short list of suggested databases to explore in the Visual Arts.

 

 

Looking for a Place to Start? Explore These.

Make sure to log in to Omni to get full access.

Search ARTstor Digital Library

Anonymous. Namban (Southern Barbarians). Mamoyama period, late 16th century. Pair of screens. 152.4 x 363.8 cm. (each screen). The Art Institute of Chicago, Robert Endowment Fund, Illinois, USA. From: ARTstor Digital Library, https://www.artstor.org/ (accessed January 27, 2020).

 

Our subscription to ARTstor gives you access to over 2.5+ million high quality images from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Please note: in order to download images for use, you will need to create a free account (use your Brock email address).

Take a tour and check out this tutorial for the basics of how to use ARTstor:

 

Citing: MLA & Chicago Style

For the research paper, Dr. Knight will accept MLA or Chicago Style. 
Find online help or use the print style guides in the library: