Research Guides: Psychology: Books

Where to Find Background Information

Reference sources like encyclopedia entries and subject dictionaries are great resources for learning about your topic. What are the main theories related to your topic? Who are the key theorists? What disciplines are related to your topic? You can find scholarly summaries and background information on your topic using reference sources found in the resources listed below.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Find encyclopedias, handbooks and specialized reference sources for research.
- Interdisciplinary.
- Permitted Uses
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- Authoritative, interdisciplinary handbooks and encyclopedias across the social sciences.
- Brock owns the complete book, reference and navigator collection.
- Permitted Uses
SAGE Knowledge Homepage from SAGE Publications, Inc. on Vimeo.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Includes Oxford Quick Reference of core subject, quotation, and language dictionaries and Oxford Reference Library of companions and multi-volume encyclopedias for longer, in-depth, essays and specialist definitions.
- Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses

Where to Find Information on Psychology Topics

Books offer in-depth coverage of a subject, overviews of a big topic, background information, as well as recommended readings, or a bibliography. Academic books are often a collection of essays or have distinct chapters on specific aspects of the topic at hand. Use the Table of Contents or the Index of a book to find the book chapter that fits your needs.

Omni This link opens in a new window
- Brock's largest Interdisciplinary search tool
- Millions of journal articles, books & ebooks, newspapers, videos, magazines and more!
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- Recently published books and classic works dating back to the 17th century published by the American Psychological Association.
- Permitted Uses

Oxford Library of Psychology
Handbooks in this series offer authoritative and up-to-date reviews of original research across the sub-disciplines of psychology, including,Clinical Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Organizational Psychology, Social Psychology.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
A pre-filtered search of all of T&F's behavioural Science ebooks.
Wiley Online Library
Browse or search through Wiley's collection of Psychology ebooks.