Research Guides: Engineering: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- Covers scientific and technical literature in physics and astronomy, electrical engineering and electronics, communications, computers and control, mechanical and production engineering, and information technology.
- Content includes journals, conference proceedings, preprints, reports, books, patents, dissertations, standards, patents, videos, trade journals and consumer magazines, dating back to 1969.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
- Comprises journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
- Coverage: 1970-present
Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- An engineering reference and teaching platform that provides interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
- Permitted Uses
- Search the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks, upper-level engineering textbooks, as well as hundreds of other expert references.
- Also includes DataVis, an interactive visualization tool to understand material properties.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Limited to 50 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
- Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Covers computing literature from all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books as well as publications from select publishers.
- Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1954-current (bibliographic citations with abstracts for journals and magazines)