Research Guides: Engineering: Grey Literature

Grey Literature

Grey literature databases identify resources that are key to research and scholarship. Many are open resources that go through a quality control process before they are published. Definitions are scholarly dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks that help define terms and provide additional context.

ASCE Library
- Provides full-text access journals, conference proceedings, ebooks and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
- Indexes authoritative information on all aspects of civil and environmental engineering from 1872 to the present.
- Permitted Uses
ASM Handbooks Online
- A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.
- This is the digital version of the ASM Handbook series, and includes access to all current handbooks, archived handbooks, and desk editions.

ACS (American Chemical Society)

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
ISBN: 9780841235830
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - completely updated and modernized - as well as a wealth of brand new chapters covering everything from preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Concise Dictionary of Engineering (2014)

Science Technology & Society: An Encyclopedia (2005)

Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering (2018)

Dictionary of Chemical Engineering (2014)

Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering (2019)

Handbook of Sustainable Engineering (2013)

Handbook of Ecological and Ecosystems Engineering (2012)

Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Design (2018)

More Resources

Patents, trademarks, and standards
are intellectual property resources of potential interest
Theses and Dissertations
are important unpublished resources granted and retained by universities as capstone projects, these, and dissertations.
Open Education Resources (OERs)
are digital ebooks and learning objects that can be used as open textbooks on a wide variety of general and disciplinary subjects.

Occupational Health and Safety
Occupational Health and Safety information is essential to dealing with injuries, accidents, government and regulatory information.

Systematic reviews, scoping reviews and other evidence syntheses
by Elizabeth Yates Last Updated Apr 29, 2025 1121 views this year