Research Guides: Physics: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Physics research lends itself to using Chemistry, Engineering, Computer Science, and Mathematics & Statistics resources.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Useful for finding journal articles published on a topic or to discover who has cited a particular author and/or paper.
- Permitted Uses
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- Covers scientific and technical literature in physics and astronomy, electrical engineering and electronics, communications, computers and control, mechanical and production engineering, and information technology.
- Content includes journals, conference proceedings, preprints, reports, books, patents, dissertations, standards, patents, videos, trade journals and consumer magazines, dating back to 1969.
American Physical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly peer-reviewed journals published by the American Physical Society (APS).
- Features all subdivisions of Physical Review, the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) database, and open access, review, editorial, magazine and scholarly papers from a wide range of mathematics, chemistry, physics, philosophy, applied and physical sciences.
- Coverage: 1893-current
- Permitted Uses
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- Limited to 50 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
- Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).