Research Guides: Sport Management: Industry Information

Industry Information

Industry information in the context of sports management refers to the data and insights related to the business aspects of sports, including market trends, revenue streams, and consumer behavior. This information helps sports managers make informed decisions about marketing, sponsorships, and event planning. Additionally, it enables professionals to identify growth opportunities and address challenges within the competitive landscape of the sports industry.

A Business Research Guide Finder provides assistance in identifying business- and industry-related research, data, news and scholarly articles.

Use the following databases to collect sport industry information.

Plunkett's Sports Industry Center This link opens in a new window
- Find market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, industry associations and organizations for the professional sporting industries in North America.
- Permitted Uses
Tutorials
Passport This link opens in a new window
- Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countries
- Permitted Uses
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
SportBusiness This link opens in a new window
- Provides daily news, insight, analysis, data, and opinion on the global business of sport.
- Brock University Library has a subscription to SportBusiness Professional, including Sponsorship and Media collections.
- Permitted Uses

Additional business-related database include the following.

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window
- Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.
- Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.
- Permitted Uses
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- All disciplines of business
- Find scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazines
- Includes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reports
- Permitted Uses