Research Guides: Science: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Note that Web of Science Core Collection includes scholarly peer review articles from important scholarly journals with the ability to limit searches by date, relevance, language, format and importance. A great source to find current scholarly peer-review articles.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

Omni using the Advanced Search search engine searches for articles by selecting Resource Type: Articles.

A select list of open and Brock Library subscribed databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly resources across all disciplines.
- Permitted Uses
Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
Scholars Portal E-Journals This link opens in a new window
- Full text peer-reviewed full-text articles from scholarly journals covering every academic discipline.
- Permitted Uses