Research Guides: POLI3P96: Search and Share

Search and Share

For the activity you will take an idea or concept from the week’s readings and then search for a text or image (hereafter: text or artefact) that you think relates to it. Then, you will bring this text to seminar and share it with the group both by introducing the text and by discussing how you see it relating to the week’s reading

This assignment consists of 2 components: the text/artefact that you are finding and your presentation of it to the class.

Finding Artefacts

You have a lot of options available to you, both through Brock library subscriptions as well as open access, to find artefacts. Once you've settled on an idea, you'll want to consider what type of artefact you're searching for (a newspaper article? a photograph? a letter? sky's the limit).

Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- Covers all aspects of the culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
- Permitted Uses
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
- A collection of primary sources that explores the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
- Coverage: 1665-1988
- Permitted Uses
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window
- Collected resources with a focus on First Nations and Indigenous peoples of Canada, and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Includes books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.

Newspapers

Globe and Mail @ Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Full page newspaper archive including all stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to pre-confederation era
- 1844 - present (4 year delay on current content)
- Permitted Uses
Toronto Star @ ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Full text of the Toronto Star from 1894-present.
- 2+ year delay on current content
- Access available current issues of the Toronto Star
- Permitted Uses
Our Ontario Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Find historical and current news articles, images, collections and histories from Ontario newspaper archives, genealogical societies, museums and primary resources.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Our Ontario Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Find historical and current news articles, images, collections and histories from Ontario newspaper archives, genealogical societies, museums and primary resources.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site

Archival Material

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
- Includes several million free texts, audio, moving images and software, as well as archived web pages.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Library and Archives Canada Collection Search This link opens in a new window
- Find heritage, genealogy, reference and archival resources about all parts of Canada.
- Includes a full range of print, online, private and government textual materials including papers, photographs, maps, art, drawings, recordings, moving images and multiple media.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
https://recherche-collection-search.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/Home/Search

Brock's Special Collections & Archives

Additional Material

Foreign Representatives in Canada (Global Affairs Canada)
Treaty List (Global Affairs Canada)
Jules Leger Library (GAC)
Federal Hansard
The Hansard Index is the key to information about what is said by Members of Parliament in the House of Commons during the 35th Parliament, 2nd Session. The subject entries will either provide reference to a page number or, a combination of page number followed by the issue sitting number and time checks in the daily Hansard.
Ontario House Hansard index
Hansard indexes can help you find information in the House of Commons
UN Economics and Social Affairs