Research Guides: Dramatic Arts: Key Resources

Key Resources

Key resources are your best bet when you're looking to get started with research right away. Please read the descriptions carefully.

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
- View hundreds of classic, contemporary and international theatrical productions.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes interviews on the dramatic, technical theatre-making process, as well as experimental, post-dramatic and applied theatre.
- Find essays, documentaries, lectures, and guides on theatre history, context, language analysis, and practical techniques.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- Over 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury, including Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, and Faber & Faber, plus production stills from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the American Shakespeare Center.
- Permitted Uses
- Also included are over 600 plays from Nick Hern Books, and over 170 plays from Playwrights Canada Press.
- Brock subscribes to Core Collection, Playwrights Canada Press, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, The National Theatre Collection, and the Theatre Communications Group (TCG) Play Collection.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
- Find entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
- Permitted Uses
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Literature and criticism across the humanities and social sciences
- This database houses e-books, journal articles, reviews and some digital humanities material. Check out the "Browse" feature to find series of books or journals
- Coverage: 1993-current
- Permitted Uses
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly journals, weekly magazines and newspapers with a focus on humanities disciplines.
- Permitted Uses
- Major areas of coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, classics, contemporary cultural studies, education, economics, environment, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, political science, religion, theatre.
- Coverage: 1962-current