Research Guides: Biotechnology: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Note that Web of Science Complete allows for searching several databases concurrently including Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, MEDLINE and others.

MEDLINE is available through PubMed, MEDLINE via OVID and MEDLINE via Web of Science Complete.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

Omni is the Brock Library's database to find scholarly materials including the full text of individual journal articles.

A select list of Brock Library including open databases are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Useful for finding journal articles published on a topic or to discover who has cited a particular author and/or paper.
- Permitted Uses
MEDLINE - via Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical, biomedicine and health research literature. MEDLINE indexes over 18 million references to articles from over 5,500 newspapers, newsletters and magazines including 1,500 core journals. MEDLINE covers research topics in biology, environmental science, plant and animal science, marine biology , chemistry, biophysics and related intradisciplinary fields. MEDLINE accommodates keyword searching while facilitating the use of MeSH Thesaurus controlled vocabulary, headings, qualifiers and major topics. MEDLINE via Web of Knowledge provides a unique ability to analyze and refine search results, sort records, save search histories, utilize EndNote Web and Refworks bibliographic management tools and create customized citation alerts that automatically sends citations of interest to your email account.
- Coverage: 1950-current ; updated weekly.
- Permitted Uses
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- Find life and biological sciences scholarly articles, 1926 to the present.
- Part of the Web of Science Complete database collection.
- Permitted Uses
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
- Online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
- Full-text articles are not peer reviewed and may be eventually published in science journals.
- Coverage: 2013-present
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Compendex This link opens in a new window
- A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
- Comprises journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
- Coverage: 1970-present