Research Guides: Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Maps & Art

Online Maps & Atlases

Atlas of Medieval Europe
Edited by David Ditchburn, Simon MacLean and Angus Mackay. New York: Routledge, 1997. Online.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook : Maps & Images.
Online.

Print Maps & Atlases

Most maps & atlases are in the Map, Data & GIS Library, located in Mackenzie Chown Complex Rm C306, the MDGL offers collaborative study space, computers for student use, knowledgeable, friendly staff and is open to everyone

See more titles.

Atlas of the medieval world by Rosamond McKitterick.
Call Number: MAP LIBRARY-ATLAS G 1034 M35 2004
ISBN: 0195221583
Publication Date: 2004
The Penguin historical atlas of the medieval world by Andrew Jotischky & Caroline Hull.
Call Number: MAP LIBRARY-ATLAS G 1034 J68 2005
ISBN: 0141014490
Publication Date: 2005
Historical atlas of the Viking world by Angus Konstam
Call Number: MAP LIBRARY-ATLAS G 1034 K67 2002
ISBN: 0816050686
Publication Date: 2002
An historical atlas of Islam by Hugh Kennedy
Call Number: MAP LIBRARY-ATLAS G 1786 S1 H6 2002
ISBN: 9004122354
Publication Date: 2002
Historical atlas of the Renaissance by Robert Ritchie
Call Number: 10th Floor CB 361 R583 2004
ISBN: 0816057311
Publication Date: 2004
Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia by J.G. Lorimer
Call Number: 9TH FLOOR OF LIBRARY DS 326 L67 2003
ISBN: 9781852070304
Publication Date: 2003
6 volumes. Vol. 4 located in Special Collections (10th floor) contains 17 folded genealogical tables, 1 folded chart and 1 folded map in box.

Sources for art and architecture

Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts: Online Images and Resources
Internet Resources from College & Research Libraries News, by Robert Miller, 78 (6), 2017.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- All aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to present day.
- Find biographies, subject entries, bibliographic citations and image links and images.
- Includes The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
- Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Images including painting, photography and sculpture.
- Artstor content is now hosted on the JSTOR platform, and as of August 1, 2024 the Artstor Digital Library platform will be unavailable.
- To manage images in JSTOR’s workspace, users may wish to register for an individual JSTOR account. If you already have an Artstor account, this is now your JSTOR account.
- Permitted uses
- Subjects include, art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance Studies.
- Guides for Artstor on JSTOR are available, including video tutorials and steps for
  working with images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Database of journal articles and books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business.
- Most content is more than 3 years old
- Permitted Uses
- Brock has fulltext access to a subset of JSTOR eBooks including Music Set 1 (2016), Film Sets 1-3 (2017), and Language & Literature Sets 1-2 (2017).
- A Database Guide is available.