Research Guides: MBAB 5P42: Equity Investments, Markets, & Instruments: Library Resources for Alumni

Accessing Business Information - A Guide for Alumni

Library Access for Brock University Alumni
As a Brock Alumni, you are eligible to borrow books from the Library at no charge.
Access to online resources is often restricted to current students. Some business databases (like Mergent Online) are licensed for alumni access - consult this guide for details.

Key Library Databases Available to Goodman Alumni

The following licensed databases have content of particular interest to Goodman School of Business alumni:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window InterdisciplinaryFind mainly English-language peer-reviewed full-text scholarly articles, NPR, CNN and CBC podcasts, news, images, videos, audio files and links.Permitted Uses
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window Find multidisciplinary scholarly journal articles magazines and newspapers published in Canada.Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window A deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.Permitted Uses
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.Until June 2025 this content is also available on the legacy Mergent Online platform.Permitted Uses
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window Contains all publications and datasets since 1998 released by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, International Energy Agency, Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and International Transport Forum.Brock Library subscribes to OECD Books, Papers & Statistics, but some areas are freely available to the public, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables.Coverage: 1998-currentPermitted Uses

Public Libraries

Take advantage of your local public library!

Many public libraries provide their members with free, remote access to online databases which you can use to keep up with current news, or to research the published academic and professional literature. Some libraries will let non-residents obtain a temporary membership card for a fee.

St. Catharines Public Library - Membership
Membership is free to residents of St. Catharines.
Hamilton Public Library - Get a Library Card
Library cards are free to anyone living, working, or studying in Hamilton.
Toronto Public Library - Using the Library
Library membership is free to anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Toronto. TPL has a robust collection of research databases including many business research products.
Ontario Public Libraries
An alphabetical list of public libraries in Ontario with links to each library's website.

Other Options

1. Some professional associations provide access to business research tools as a benefit to their members.

2. Some companies have "corporate libraries" or offer desktop access to business information from LexisNexis, Dow Jones, or other services.

2. Some Public and Academic Libraries offer "fee-based" research & document delivery services for business clients. One such example is listed here.

3. Some quality information may be freely available to you - examples of Open Access publications are noted on various Business research guides by an orange open padlock icon.

Center for Evidence-Based Management
Professional members have "access to the most relevant research journal databases in management (with in-depth coverage for over 3,000 research articles, over 2,000 available in full text...[and] access to the CEBMa Help Desk to support finding the most relevant research articles for your management issues."
IntelliSearch (TPL)
IntelliSearch is a fee-based custom research service of the Toronto Public Library.