Research Guides: ECON 2P28: Economics of the Environment: Finding Articles

Finding News Articles

If you are looking for current or historic full text news articles on environmental and natural resource issues, policies, and events, the best place to look are Library databases that specialize in newspaper content. The following Library Databases are recommended starting points:

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources.Most titles are updated daily, and some date as far back as the late 1970s. Permitted Uses
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni provides access to over 10,000 international news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Omni Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window Search current and historical newspaper coverage.

Finding Academic Journal Articles

If you are looking for academic / scholarly journal articles on environmental economics, consult one or more of the following Library databases listed below. Note that some of the databases are interdisciplinary, so they cover more subject areas that just economics, and include other publication types including books and government publications.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- International economics journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers and book reviews.
- Coverage: 1969-present
- Permitted Uses
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
- Provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
- Permitted Uses
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- Covers political, social, and economic issues
- Find journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
- Permitted Uses