Skip to main content



MBAB 5P51: Industrial Relations

Cite Your Sources

quotation marks iconThis page provides guidance on citing sources related to industrial relations including cases and decisions, legislation, commentary, and collective agreements.

The Citing Business Sources in APA Style provides guidance in citing other types of sources.

How to Cite Sources Found in LabourSource

The LabourSource database contains a variety of types of sources such as:

  1. cases and decisions
  2. legislation
  3. commentary.

A generic APA Style reference list entry and an example for each of these types appears below.

1. Cases and Decisions (e.g. Labour Arbitration Cases)

Name v. Name, Volume Source Abbreviation (Series) Page (Date)

Ontario v. O.P.S.E.U., 219 L.A.C. (4th) 151 (2012)


2. Legislation (Statutes and Regulations)

Legislation is cited in APA Style according to standard legal citation style. In Canada, we follow the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation.

Title of Act,  Statute volume abbreviation, year, chapter and section number (if necessary)


Labour Relations Act, S.O. 1995, s. 70 


3. Commentary (e.g. Brown & Beatty)

There are several ways to cite entries in an online reference work such as Brown & Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration.

Reference List Sample Citation for an entire reference work

Author A. & Author B. (Eds.). (Year). Title of work. Location: Publisher

or

Author A. & Author B.  (Eds.). (Year). Title of work. Retrieved from URL or Name of Database

Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.). (2006). Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book.

or

Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.). (2006). Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book. Retrieved from LabourSource database.


Reference List Sample Citation for an entry from a reference work (with no page numbers).

If there are no page numbers, APA Style allows you to refer to the chapter title or entry title. Since the paragraph number is often used in references to Brown & Beatty, you can include both elements as illustrated below.

Title of chapter or entry. (Year)  In. A. Editor, B. Editor. (Eds.), Title of book . Location: Publisher. Retrieved from Database name.

1:5300 Jurisdictional Error. (2006). In Brown, D.J.M. & Beatty, D. M. (Eds.), Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed. Toronto: Canada Law Book. Retrieved from LabourSource database.


 

How to Cite Other Legal Materials

APA recommends that legal materials (such as cases, statutes, or collective agreements) be cited according to The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation. The Canadian equivalent to this U.S. legal citation guide is The Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation. However, as it is silent on how to cite a collective agreement, I propose the following example:

Brock University and the Brock University Faculty Association (2014). Collective agreement between Brock University and the Brock University Faculty Association, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2017. St. Catharines, ON. Retrieved from:http://www.brocku.ca/webfm_send/33840


The following links provide guidance on citing legal materials such as cases and legislation according to the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (aka the McGill Guide).

Citing Business Sources in APA Style Guide

Theses guides, prepared by Business Librarians, include detailed examples of references from popular Business databases: