Research Guides: Health Sciences: Data

Data

Data and Statistics are published by organizations, researchers, private, public, and government agencies.

Note that several academic libraries have created extensive lists of data and statistics resources including the University of Toronto Gerstein Centre and McGill Library.

A select list of health-related international, national and regional data sources includes the following:

Borealis (Canadian Dataverse Repository)
- A bilingual, multidisciplinary research data repository supported by Canadian academic libraries and research institutions
Brock University Digital Repository
- An online archive of the Brock community's scholarly output, and items from the Library's Archives & Special Collections
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
- Provides comparable and actionable data and information for improvements in Canadian health care
figshare
- A cloud-based data repository for researcher profiles and research outputs, shared in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. Multiple file formats supported.
Global Health Repository (WHO)
- The World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 member countries.
Health Infobase (Canadian)
- Data tools, infographics, charts and blogs about health data in Canada
Health Statistics for Niagara (Region of Niagara)
- A collection of statistics on health topics and progress status for program and service delivery
HealthStats (World Bank)
- A comprehensive collection of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Lunaris
odesi (Canadian)
- A Canadian social science data repository and online exploration and analysis tool
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
- A comprehensive source for international comparisons of health and health systems. For policy makers, researchers, journalists and citizens to compare the performance of health systems across OECD and partner countries.
Public Health Ontario
- A resource of scientific evidence and expert guidance for shaping policies and practices in Ontario
Statistics Canada
- To find Census data, health and key indicators, and subject-specific reports.
UN Data Explorer
- An interdisciplinary collection of datasets, sources, and topics. Includes data on cause-specific mortality, socioeconomic statistics, infectious diseases and risk factors