Research Guides: Recreation &amp; Leisure: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Complete
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
Sport Discus
- Scholarly literature covering all aspects of sport including, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- Permitted Uses
Leisure Tourism Collection
- Covers of all aspects of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and the cultural industries.
- Find journal articles, ebooks, reports and statistical bulletins available through leisuretourism.com.
- Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1974-present.

Recreation & Leisure

Need Help?

Articles