Research Guides: Recreation &amp; Leisure: Data

Data

Data and Statistics are published by organizations, researchers, private, public, and government agencies. A select list of health-related international, national and regional data sources includes the following.

Regional and National Resources

Borealis (Canadian Dataverse Repository)
- A bilingual, multidisciplinary research data repository supported by Canadian academic libraries and research institutions
Brock University Digital Repository
- An online archive of the Brock community's scholarly output, and items from the Library's Archives & Special Collections
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
- Provides comparable and actionable data and information for improvements in Canadian health care
Health Statistics for Niagara (Region of Niagara)
- A collection of statistics on health topics and progress status for program and service delivery
odesi (Canadian)
- A Canadian social science data repository and online exploration and analysis tool
Public Health Ontario
- A resource of scientific evidence and expert guidance for shaping policies and practices in Ontario
Statistics Canada
- To find Census data, health and key indicators, and subject-specific reports.

International Resources

Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHASS/ Information & Instructional Technology)
- This collection of online databases and custom-built search and retrieval programs. Includes census and survey data
figshare
- A cloud-based data repository for researcher profiles and research outputs, shared in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. Multiple file formats supported.
Global Health Repository (WHO)
- The World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 member countries.
HealthStats (World Bank)
- A comprehensive collection of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
- A comprehensive source for international comparisons of health and health systems. For policy makers, researchers, journalists and citizens to compare the performance of health systems across OECD and partner countries.
UN Data Explorer
- An interdisciplinary collection of datasets, sources, and topics. Includes data on cause-specific mortality, socioeconomic statistics, infectious diseases and risk factors

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
- Find US and international (some Canadian) quantitative research data files, in a wide variety of disciplines.
- New users must create an account to use this resource. For assistance contact ICPSR at icpsr-help@umich.edu, or Brock University's ICPSR representative Tim Ribaric tribaric@brocku.ca .
- Permitted Uses

Research Data Management

For assistance in identifying data resources, data sets, information or if you are looking for assistance with GIS-related tasks, data management, data visualization and curation, contact the Maps, Data & GIS Help Guides or review the Research Data Management Guide for more information.

Research Data Management
by Sonia Dhaliwal Last Updated Oct 15, 2025 357 views this year

Recreation & Leisure

Need Help?

Data

Regional and National Resources

International Resources

Research Data Management

Regional and National Resources

International Resources

Research Data Management