Research Guides: Education: Articles

Finding Articles

Recommended for Education, these databases contain mostly journal articles but also professional and trade magazines, conference papers, theses, and more.

Find more databases on the Library Databases page. Click on Education for a list of databases covering education topics.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
- All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as educational specialties
- Find scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers and ERIC documents
- Coverage: 1929-current
- Permitted Uses
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- The U.S national database of education literature covering all aspects of education.
- Permitted Uses
- 2 collections: Resources in Education for document literature (conference papers, books, research reports, dissertations), and Current Index to Journals in Education (published journal literature)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly resources across all disciplines.
- Permitted Uses

Multidisciplinary Databases with Education Content

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers with a Canadian perspective.
- Permitted Uses
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
- Reports on economic trends, industry outlooks, organizational performance, and public policy from The Conference Board of Canada and The Conference Board, Inc.
- Includes case studies, analysis of public policy issues, briefings, economic periodicals, executive action reports, conference e-proceedings, webinars from industry experts and practitioners
- NOTE: if you are having trouble accessing the site please create an account using your Brock email
- Permitted Uses
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- All subjects of psychology and behavioural sciences
- Find scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, theses, dissertations and reports.
- PsycInfo is now available via the ProQuest platform. PsycArticles, PsycBooks and other APA content are available on the APA platform.
- Permitted Uses

Finding Journal Articles

Do you need to find peer-reviewed journal articles?

Peer-reviewed articles may also be referred to as scholarly, academic or refereed articles. These articles generally have the following characteristics:

written by scholars, researchers for an audience of fellow scholars and researchers
may contain footnotes or other notes
list many references
often contain original research
are usually lengthy

Before being published, a journal article must first go through a review process to ensure it meets accepted scholarly standards. The article should also contribute significant, original research to the field.

Watch What's Peer Review?